Hello and welcome to my blog space. Here you’ll find my random thoughts on just about anything… movies I’ve seen, books I’ve read, things I love, people I admire, what I’m working on. You know, a collection of haphazard thoughts and ideas from my brain (which is sort of a scary thought!). A space for me to get my feelings down and hopefully have a discussion with like-minded, or maybe not so like-minded, individuals. I’m always up for discussion, but my only rule is that you have to be respectful. Differing opinions are what make the world go round, but if we can’t discuss them civilly, then what’s the point?

Now, you may have a question about the name of the site. I’m not gonna lie, it’s a little cheeky. But I love it because it’s actually a quote from one of my favourite films, The Birdcage. Val (Dan Futterman) has just told his dad, Armand (the incomparable Robin Williams) that he’s getting married. Needless to say, it doesn’t go well. Instead of answering yes or no when Val asks his dad ‘are you upset?’ Armand looks at his son and says, ‘But let me tell you why…’ It’s a quote that I’ve always loved and thought it was rather apropos here. And if you haven’t seen The Birdcage, stop what you’re doing and go and watch it right now. Robin Williams and Nathan Lane are masterful in the film.

So, that’s it. That’s what this whole thing is about. Hope you stop by again to see what I’m up to. Or not up to, as the case may be.

Erin

Leave a Reply

